I’ve decided I don’t like Coldplay


I have to say that I really tried to like Coldplay. I  bought a couple of their albums like X+Y and “Viva la Vida”.  I guess each time, I was hoping for the impossible, a good record that was never found. I must say that besides my positive energy and good intentions,  I haven’t been able to listen to any of those CDs completely.  After the second song I get irritated and can’t stop myself from turning it off. … and running away .

I guess I tried to like them because I love their song “Yellow” and I was always hoping to fall in love with one of their songs again. But I realized that I’m done with them.  It doesn’t matter how popular they are, how much they are publicized or played on the radio.  To me all of their songs sound the same and I don’t care much for Chris Martin’s voice.  I have to admit that I DON’T LIKE THEM and I really don’t care if I am the only one in this world who doesn’t think that they are great. – There it is,  I said it and I feel relieved!
As I was listening to my music this week some of Coldplay songs showed up and I realized that I couldn’t understand some of their song’s content.
For instance, let’s talk about “Viva la vida”;

“I hear Jerusalem bells a-ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field

For some reason I can’t explain
Once you go there was never
Never an honest word
And that was when I ruled the world”

What is he talking about? Is this song about the crusades? When was he a king?  That song doesn’t make sense to me.  If I wanted to listen to Christian music I would listen to Jackson Waters which, by the way, is really fantastic. (listen to Come Undone)

Going back to Coldplay,  I decided to go to a site called SongMeanings.  I wanted to see what people thought this song meant, I guess not even the fans could figure it out.
These are some of the comments:

“I think this song has something to do with religion because of the references to romans, Jerusalem and the opening line ‘I used to rule the world, seas would rise when I the the word’. I can’t figure it out. But I love this song….”

“In the second verse, his mindset seems to have changed and he’s accepted his lower status and now is questioning, “who would ever wanna be king?” Well, he used to be the King and now that he sees what it looks like from an outsider’s perspective, he realizes that he’s glad to have left it behind.

I have no idea about the chorus. Hopefully someone else has some ideas.”

There are many comments like the ones above.  According to Wikipedia – my trusted source- not even the band members know what the song really is about…. I guess I can rest my case now.

Anyway, I do love “Yellow”, so here it goes,

Enjoy,

Leave a Reply

