Music for Cooking – You can try this at home


When ever I have to do something I don’t like, I try to do something else at the same time.  For instance, when I clean the house, I have to either listen to music – I have to create a special playlist –  or talk on the phone.  If  I know that it is going to take me a long time, I rather call my aunt  and with her, I can talk forever.  We go over the lives of every family member and that way,  I get to clean the whole house with one phone call.  I really love multi-tasking!

With cooking I have the same problem.  I don’t like cooking, I’m horrible at it and I have gotten better because I had to learn out of necessity… When I left Colombia I had no idea of how to cook,  I think  that in my younger years  I  never came close to the kitchen.  When I went to Grad school I had a feeding strategy.  I would have cereal in the mornings and late lunches in the afternoon, with the only purpose  of avoiding any type of interaction with the kitchen at night. 

With time I had to learn; friends sent recipes, my roommate taught me some and my husband taught me a lot.  I guess I can follow recipes now, but I’m sure I don’t have “the gift”.  I can’t combine ingredients, mix flavors and come up with great dishes; cooking is completely out of my league.  I can say though, that I do have some recipes that I have learned and that now, after and 8-year journey with the kitchen I can say I prepare decent  food.

Having said that, I still feel anxiety every time I have to face the empty pans, the knives and raw ingredients and only some nice music can calm me down and help me take the bull by the horns.

The other day I was listening to Meaghan Smith, a Canadian singer, while I was cooking and I must say that for the first time in a long time I felt relaxed in the kitchen, I think her  music makes me enjoy cooking. – Ok, it makes it less horrible.  Her voice and songs remind me of the 1930’s  or 1940’s glamour and elegance.  Her music is harmonious and makes you smile,

Enjoy,

Leave a Reply

