Pictures of you


After the release of “Friday I’m in love” in 1992 I decided that I have had enough of The Cure and that I would do my best to avoid their music. I was 14 at the time and I just got tired of their sound,  they were played on the radio too much and at that time, there were no itunes or Pandora. In Colombia there were only 2 or 3 good radio stations, so basically I was forced to listen to them.  At 14,  I decided that I just have had enough and since then I managed to stay away from The Cure fever.    

I guess that as you grow old, you start to see life in a different way,  your likes and dislikes change and also your  music taste evolves…  Today I listened to The Cure for the first time in years; I woke up with the song “Pictures of You” in my head and for some strange reason decided to play one of their albums.  The selected one was “Galore – The Singles 1987-1997”

I must say that I loved this album and I finally understood why people like The Cure so much, their sound is timeless.  This time around, I found Robert Smith’s melancholic voice  fascinating and the lyrics of the songs were simply beautiful … “remembering you fallen into my arms, crying
for the death of your heart”.  Beautiful!

Today, I can’t say that  I am a huge fan of The Cure, I can’t listen to “Boys don’t Cry” or  “Killing and Arab” but  after all these years, I can say that I finally enjoyed their music.

3 responses

  1. Meme

    Siempre he querido música de The Cure, creo que representa una buena época de nuestra vida y es cierto lo que dices, la comenzamos a apreciar más ahora. Sobre las emisoras de esa época, súmale el radio de nuestra famosa ruta 18… jajaja… hasta que pudimos utilizar el Walkman de Sony que compartimos muchas veces.
    Seguiré leyéndote amiga, gracias por tus conocimientos!

    August 29, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    • Si meme, en esa epoca yo escuchaba 88.9… y me acuerdo que las letras de las canciones salian publicadas en El Tiempo y yo las recortaba y las guardaba… En fin, yo odiaba a The Cure, pero esa cancion, “Pictures of You” es espectacular tienes que ver la letra… Gracias por leer mi blog, Te quiro amiga!

      August 29, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  2. Lindsay

    That was my first Cure album too. My second year of college a friend of mine had the album and I mocked him mercilessly for listening to 80’s music. He kept listening to it and it grew on me. Now that album always reminds me of being young, working on architecture projects, and complicated crushes. Two thumbs up for this post.

    August 30, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

