Awful ballads of the 80’s and early 90’s


The inspiration for this topic came to me when my friend Tim Zork started to sing “Careless Whisper” from George Michael at lunch time. He made me remember how an entire generation was bombarded with insanely dramatic and ultra romantic ballads that I bet scared more than one person, forever.

The way I see it, one thing is to sing about love or a broken heart and another one is to make a song so dramatic, so sad, that you just wish you could do something to ease all that pain.  Regardless of the reasons for these creations, there is something about these songs that affect my mind and body.  The moment I hear the first note, a neurone in my brain sends a signal to my whole head; the electric impulse that surrounds me for a split second resembles the beginning of a migraine and I think that I even see yellow dots for a minute.

Because I dislike these songs so much; the songs that unfortunately came to this world when I was a young and innocent flower, I decided to make a top 10 of the worst ballads of the 80’s and early 90’s. So, here we go:
10)   Don’t know much, Linda Ronstadt & Aaron Neville 1989
  9)    To be with you, Mr Big 1991
  8)    Wind of Change, Scorpions, 1990
  7)    Eternal Flame, The Bangles , 1989
  6)    Broken Wings, Mr Mister, 1985
  5)    When I see your smile, Bad English, 1989
  4)    Lady in Red, Chris DeBurgh, 1986
  3)    Can’t fight this feeling, REO speed wagon, 1984
  2)    Right here waiting, Richard Marx, 1989
  1)    How am I supposed to live without you, Michael Bolton  1989

I can’t listen to any of these songs. I have to say though, that since I grew up with this music, I wasn’t totally immune to it.  I do love some of the ballads produced during those years. Ballads with the same dramatism and tackisness, and because we all have some of those things inside of us, I’m not ashamed to admit that I love “Making love out of nothing at all” by Air Supply.  Every time I get the chance, I sing this song as loud as I can and I even grab anything that resembles a microphone and pretend I am on the stage….

I specially love this part

“Everytime I see you, well the rays of the sun are all
Streaming through the waves in your hair
And every star in the sky is taking aim at your eyes
Like a spotlight
The beating of my heart is a drum and it’s lost
And it’s looking for a rhythm like you
You can take the darkness from the deep of the night
And turn it to a beacon burning endlessly bright
I gotta follow it ’cause everything I know
Well, it’s nothing ’till I give it to you”

Enjoy,

2 responses

  1. Meme

    My favorite part of this note: “when I was a young and innocent flower”, hahahahaha, ayyy Helen… what a funny thing!!!

    I think we actually sang Air Supply song like that: “Hay un moco en el arrozzzzz”…. JAJAJAJAJAJAJAAJJA…

    Just keep writing! Love it!

    August 31, 2010 at 8:30 am

    • jajajajajjaaj Meme que risa, y que tal :bus pa Pereira? se me olvido poner esa cancion…

      August 31, 2010 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

