Mr Monk and The Fall Guy


Monk, one of my favorite TV series was cancelled last december. I Finally got the chance to watch the last episode this past weekend and I must say that  I was very excited to see him catch his wife’s killer. 
I really liked Monk not only because it was a series about murder cases, but also because Mr Monk suffered from obsessive compulsive disorder.  O.C.D. made things for him so difficult that the show end up being very funny.  I though it was well written and I liked the fact that apart from the cases he worked on every week,  there was always the mystery behind his wife’s death.

I always loved Monks theme song “Its a jungle out there”

While writing this post I started to think of my favorite TV series off all-times and I have to say that I always remember The Fall Guy. This series was broadcasted from 1981 to 1986 and now that I think about it, it must have arrived to Colombia years later, because I remember being older than 3 years old when I watched it and definitely my brothers was around – he was born in 1982.  I think I was  in elementary school and I remember playing with my friends that I was Colt Seavers and that I had a truck like his. 

The main character in The Fall Guy, was Colt Seavers.  He was a hollywood stunt man who moonlighted as a bounty hunter.  His job was to catch criminals that had escaped prison and bring them back to the police.  His loyal companion was his cousin Howie Munson and they were always on a large GMC pickup truck.  Because he was a stunt man, it was normal to see him driving on  unfinished bridges, jumping from trains or hanging from helicopters.  I thought it was great, probably if I see it today, I wouldn’t be able to watch this show for more than 10min.  In my mind though, it will always be fantastic.

I also loved the theme song and the lyrics of The Fall Guy;

2 responses

  1. Meme

    Me acabo de enterar que “Profesión Peligro” se llamaba “The Fall Guy” jajajaja… Y sí, marcó nuestras vidas esta serie. La daban los viernes a las 6pm.

    September 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

  2. Lina

    Uyyy de acuerdo Memin, yo no tenia ni idea de esa traduccion tampoco. Debo confesar que yo no he sido fan de ninguna de las dos series…y eso que hacia todo lo que hacia mi hermano.

    September 1, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

