Death Cab for Cutie, “A Diamond and a Tether”


I first listened to Death Cab for Cutie when my friend Lindsay gave me the album Transatlanticism a couple of years ago.  At the beginning I wasn’t very impressed with their music, but after having them on shuffle for the longest time I started to develop appreciation for their songs.  I think I started to really like them  when Narrow Stairs came out in 2008.  I have to say though, that the first single from this album;  “I will Possess your Heart”, freaks me out.  Not only because of the super long intro but also because of the lyrics.  This is a song about a guy that is in love with a girl, but to me the guy is a stalker and he definitely has mental problems:

“There are days when outside your window
I see my reflection as I slowly pass
And I long for this mirrored perspective
When we’ll be lovers, lovers at last”

This song is too dark for my taste. I must say that  I love rest of the album; my favorite song is “Talking Bird”. 

This weekend, while I was talking to a friend, I remembered that I had bought Death Cab for Cutie’s latest album a couple of months ago.  Open Door,  an EP released in 2009, consists of 5 songs recorded during the Narrow Stairs sessions.  It is my favorite album from Death Cab for Cutie, I can’t believe I forgot I had it!

“A Diamond and a Tether” is a song about a guy with commitment issues,

Enjoy 

Leave a Reply

