Mr P Mosh


Plastilina Mosh is an alternative rock band from Monterey, Mexico. Its members, Jonas Gonzales and Alejandro Rosso, meet in 1996 while playing Super Nintendo at a Wal-Mart. Even though Jonas and Alejandro come from a very different musical background, they have manage to create fantastic music that combines rock, rap and dance. Their first album Aquamosh was released in 1998 and recorded in 3 different stages and cities.  Different people collaborated in the recording sessions, giving the album different sounds and points of view. 
The first single of this album was Mr P Mosh.   This song had  great reviews and  it ranked number 1 on the  MTV’s latin charts.  Other singles from this album were “Afroman” and “Monster Truck”.  Aquamosh was recognized as Record of the Year in Mexico and many other countries, selling more than 150,000 copies.

Mr P Mosh reminds me of my years of MTV Latino addiction. In those years, MTV was the only thing I would watch and I think I remember pretty well all the videos of that era. Soda Stereo, Illya Kuryaki and the Valderramas, Babasonicos, El Gran Silencio, were among my favorite groups.  I think latin bands, at that time, created original and unique music and Plastilina Mosh was not the exception.
Not that long ago, a friend lend me a CD of a group called Mexican Institute of Sound.  I really enjoyed their music, however, the first thing that came to my mind  was Mr P Mosh.  Even though it’s been more than 10 years since the release of Aquamosh, its influence still present in newer bands.

Enjoy,

One response

  1. Meme

    I love this song!!! Welcome back Florecita!!! (NO a la música llanera)

    September 15, 2010 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

