Victim of a Blogger


I want to dedicate this post  to my husband who has been the victim of a blogger.

Since we got married on a sunny Saturday of May 2007, my husband – whose name I won’t reveal, because nobody can say it -, has been bombarded with all kinds of music. From salsa, regueton, and latin rock, to indie, alternative and  hard rock; I have dominated the music scene in our house.  Sometimes, for a split second,  he gets to plays a song he likes, but as soon as I get the chance, I take over the speakers again.  I am the one who is always  playing music while cooking, dinning, driving and cleaning;  I’m practically listening to music all the time.  I think, this musical obsession started when  the yellow Sony Walkman came to Colombia, and now, many years later, I’m so used to have music in my life that I can not function without it.   

I would say that for the most part, my husband has a small tolerance to the music I listen to.  I’m not sure if  the problem is in the quantity or in the quality, but I do appreciate that he doesn’t complain – too much.  Through time, we have learned to enjoy the things the other one is passionate about.  For instance, I became interested in the NBA and watched with him last year’s playoffs.  In return, he allowed me to developed – through a system of trial an error – a series of playlists of music that I love and that he can tolerate; our favorite one is Bossa Nova.  The key word here is compromise, right?

Since I started to write this blog,  I’ve been in an exploring mood.  I have downloaded tons of music, I have read newsletters and articles and I have played more music than ever before.  Sometimes I even get tired of this musical rollercoaster and I have to stop and allow myself to have some moment of silence.  I can not imagine what is going through my husband’s head and that is why I want to dedicate this post to him.  Because not only he has supported me with this blog, but also, he has bared, stoic, by my side through the rain of music we listen to every night.

One of my husband’s favorite artists is Billy Ocean,

Enjoy,

2 responses

  1. Meme

    I loved this post!!! Im agree with you… compromise is the key, and you guys know what’s the meaning of that. I was a witness of that Sunny saturday you got married… I never forget how “the victim” danced “Paso Doble” with you… He loves you Helen!!! hehehe…

    Hugs for you both 🙂

    October 6, 2010 at 8:47 am

    • Meme!! La victima estaba feliz ese dia, aunque dice que mi papa se robo el show jajajajjajaja Fue muy rico tenerte con nosotros en el matri!!!

      October 6, 2010 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

