Los Aretes de la Luna


This weekend we went to Miami for a wedding; one of my good friends from highschool was tying the knot and I wanted to see her and be with her on her special day.  I have to admit that I’m always hesitant to go to Miami. I lived there for a year and even though it was great, there is something about this city I don’t like.  I guess cities are like people; with some cities, you have great chemistry, with some you have a tough relationship.  I have to say that I had a love/hate affair with Miami; I never felt comfortable in there and I can’t really explain why it didn’t work out. I guess not every city is for everyone and Miami is definitely not for me.  I like going there for vacation, but I could never live there again.  On the other hand,  I most say that the fist time I saw Washington D.C, I fell in love;  it was love at first sight.  We have been together for 7 years and we are very happy.  We enjoy each other’s company and still, after 7 years I find D.C. fascinating. I know that not everybody is perfect and that is why I try not to complain about D.C.’s windy winter.

Anyway, I can not deny that there are parts of Miami that are very charming, there are places that remind me of good friends I met and good times I spent there.  There is a part of my life that will always be tied to this city.   As I was driving around, I was thinking that the best part of Miami is when you find manifestations of cuban culture within the city.  Simple things like the cuban coffee (1 spoon of coffee, 2 spoons of sugar and 1 drop of water), or places like cuban restaurants and bars, the people and their funny spanglish and off course, the cuban music make special this city that otherwise, would be a place without any character.  That is what I like about Miami, its history and the “Banana Republic” it has become.

Every time I go to Miami or I see my friend R. (she doesn’t want me to reveal her name) I remember the night we went to “La Bodeguita del Medio” with some classmates.  We had a great time listening to good music and telling stories.  The highlight of the night was when I went on stage with a friend  to sing  Los Aretes de la Luna by la Sonora Matancera.  I know I have a terrible voice, but  that night every old cuban guy sang with us, and cheered us,   except for my friend R who was so ashamed that went and  hide somewhere in the bar.  Miami brings me  good memories,

Enjoy!

5 responses

  1. Sahnur

    Bravo!

    October 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

  2. Raquel

    FANTASTICO ELENITA!!!! TE QUIERO Y MIAMI TE QUIERE TAMBIEN!!!
    R.

    October 19, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    • Yo tambien te quiero my friendo!. La proxima vez que nos veamos cantamos los aretes de la luna!

      October 20, 2010 at 7:27 am

  3. Rob

    Good entry. That’s a fantastic song! Keep bringing us good music.

    October 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    • Wow, I can’t believe you finally decided to read my blog! I’m honored hahahhaha

      October 20, 2010 at 7:27 am

Leave a Reply

