Garden State and The Shins


The other day I was talking to my friend Saimine Trespaleicious;  she was telling me the story of someone who reminded me of the main character in Garden State.  To my surprise, Saimine, who loves to watch movies, has never heard of this one.  Garden State is one of my favorite films, it is a great independent movie, and its soundtrack, is in my humble opinion, is one of the best soundtracks out there. (I also love the soundtracks of Juno, Darjeeling Limited and Great Expectations). 
Garden State (2004), starting Zach Braff – JD  from scrubs- and Natalie Portman tells the storyt of  Andrew Largeman (Braff), a 26-year-old actor/waiter who returns to his hometown in New Jersey after his mother dies. This is a depressing character who has been medicated for most of his life.  When he returns to New Jersey he decides to stop taking his medicine and starts to live his life.  Braff  wrote and directed the movie.  He also selected all the songs and received a Grammy Award in 2005 for  Best Compilation Soundtrack Album for a Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media.

Thanks to Garden State I discovered one of my favorite groups, The Shins. 

Enjoy,

4 responses

  1. Meme

    Thanks for calling me like my american teacher in New York… what a karma, ah? hehehe…

    Well, it wasn’t a good story, actually, it was a big issue. But, reading your “sipnosis”, I think everybody should watch it!!! It is a great message. Depression is one of the worst sickness in the world but it depends only in ourselves to move on and keep walking (like Johnnie Walker, hehe)

    About the soundtrack, great song!

    Te quiero mucho.

    btw, my REAL name is: XIMENA TRESPALACIOS… Is it really so difficult???

    November 11, 2010 at 9:21 am

  2. love love love the shins– one of my favorite bands

    November 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  3. Clau

    Saimine Trespaleicious: WHAT A SEXY NAME!!!!!
    Helen, The Shins es excelenteeeeeee!!!!

    November 19, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    • Si Clau, Saimine es un nombre muy sexy! Yo no se por que a Ella no le gusta. The shins son lo maximo, me encantan

      November 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

