All I want for christmas is you


I love this time of the year!  I just feel a great excitement as the days pass by and we start to get ready for the holidays.  I like to go shopping for the perfect gifts, (I like to go shopping no matter the occasion),  to do the arrangements for our vacation and to wrap up projects….but most of all, what I really enjoy is to have a break and to spend some quality time with family and friends.  I love the excitement that the beginning of a  new year brings.  The  opportunity for a fresh start and the hope that anything we wish for can become true in the year to come.  I also like that christmas  is a time for reflexion;  a  time to think of the blessings and the good things  that happened during the year, it is also a time to think  about things that went wrong and need to improve.  Christmas is a time of happiness…. I really love this time of the year! 

However, despite of this happy mood that christmas brings to my life; there are two things that I can’t stand about this holiday:

1. I don’t like putting christmas decoration in my house.  Please don’t get me wrong, I love seeing christmas decoration all over the city, I just can’t  force myself to decorate my house.  The reason? Many years of torture, unpacking and packing the ridiculous amount of christmas ornaments  that my mom has accumulated during the years. Does the term christmas-aholic exist?  if it does, somebody needs to go to rehab!  Every year me and my brother were forced to spend entire days unpacking boxes and boxes full of angels, Santa Clauses, christmas balls, baby Jesus figurines, christmas boots, snow men,  etc… you name it, my mom has it.   Every year, at the end of this intense effort, my house is completely unrecognizable… it looks as if Santa Clause had vomited all over the place.  Back then, packing the ornaments back in January was even worse, we had to wrap every item in news paper and placed them back into the boxes that were carefully stored until the next year.  As we grew old, it became harder and harder for my mom to get us excited about putting up all the Christmas decoration.  We always invented things to do with the only purpose of  avoiding  her  (sorry mom, but it is true).  So my mom had to branch out to my aunts and whoever innocent creature would be around to help her with her christmas challenge.  Since I moved out of my house, I haven’t own a single Christmas ornament, until last year that my mom was with us, and off course started her christmas tradition – overseas.  The worse part is that now that I have a daughter I might have to start decorating my house, but I promised myself that I’ll keep it minimal.  

2. I hate christmas songs!  I just don’t like them,  that’s all.  I don’t think I need those song to be happy or to find the spirit of christmas.  I’m perfectly fine on my own.   I specially get annoyed by the radio stations that play christmas songs all day long.  I don’t think anyone can stand more than 5 min. of that music.  They are torture…   Anyway, there are only two songs, that though corny, I love with all my heart,  they are: All I want for Christmas is you by Mariah Carey and Last Christmas by Wham. Those two songs are diamonds floating in the nasty waters of Christmas songs!

Enjoy

One response

  1. Meme

    Last Christmas by Wham! Great song! 🙂

    Volviste a escribir!!! eeehhh!!! Me hacía falta el Blog.

    See You soon to celebrate holidays 🙂

    November 30, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Leave a Reply

