Dave Matthews Band – Top 5 Favorite Songs


I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while, but I’ve been very busy and  hadn’t time to write it until now.  A couple of weeks ago Dave Matthews Band released a new album titled  Live in New York City.  I consider myself a big DMB fan, so I decided to download it.  It is a fantastic album; they always sound great when they perform live.  As I was listening to Live in New York City, I started to think of the first time I listen to DMB.  The first song I heard from them was “Stay (wasting Time)” from their 3rd album Before These Crowded Streets, released in 1998.  It is funny because I thought I was in highschool when this song came out, but I must have been on my second year of architecture school.  Once again I was an innocent flower and I didn’t know of the tortuous road that  the field of architecture was going to make me walk; with beans inside my shoes.   – ok it hasn’t been that bad; I tend to exaggerate.  Sometimes when I write, the Latin blood kicks in -.   Anyway, back to “Stay (wasting Time)”, I think that the reason I liked this song so much is because it reflected my life at the time:
“we were just wasting time
Let the hours roll by
Doing nothing for the fun
A little taste of the good life
Whether right or wrong
Makes us want to stay, stay, stay, stay, stay for a while”.

I feel that some artists grow with you, or at least you have listen to them for so long that their songs remind you of different phases of your life.  This happens to me with Dave Matthews, most of his songs bring me memories of different times.  I love remembering and it is a shame that all those sleepless nights while in architectural school messed up my memory.   I have to say though, that my favorite DMB album is Big Whiskey and the GrooGruxKing.  After I got this album I listened to it over and over for months; my daughter was just born and those songs remind me of that time of happiness and confusion. (and sleepless nights too) – as you can see, I have been sleep deprived for most of my adult life. 

Looking at DMB’s discography, I was surprise to see that since 1993, they have released 16 live albums and 7 studio albums….16 live albums is a lot!  Apparently they are famous for going on tour every summer; it is a tradition they have kept  for 20 years.  This year they announced that they are going to take a break on 2011.  One of my new year’s resolutions for 2012 will be to go to a DMB concert. I hope my wish comes true.

Since Dave Matthews Band is one of my favorite artist, I had a hard time picking my favorite song, so I decided to make a Top-5 of my favorite DMB’s songs. I must say this was not an easy task;  many of his great songs deserve to be in this list, but to me these are not just songs, these songs are part of my life….

Enjoy,

5. Funny the way it is

4. Say Goodbye

3. The Space Between

2. Stay (Wasting Time)



1. Crush

One response

  1. Meme

    Helen! La verdad no conocía nada de este grupo. Espero me pongas estas canciiones en mi Special Collector Edition para ver si te acompaño en el 2012 a verlos 😉

    Un abrazo amiga y welcome back!!!

    December 6, 2010 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

