Hello, Goodbye


On November 16th Apple announced to the world that the music of  The Beatles was now available on Itunes.   Since then, tons of  TV commercials have followed the announcement trying to get people excited about this magnificent event.  (I didn’t know this was such a big deal)  A couple of  weeks ago, I caught one of those commercials on TV and, as I was watching it, I realized that I really don’t care about The Beatles being on Itunes, for two reasons:  One, I never buy music from Itunes.  Two, at that moment, for some strange reason, I finally confronted myself and liberated something that was hiding deep down in my soul.  Something  that until then, I haven’t shared with anyone.  At that moment, I realized  that I don’t like The Beatles, and I said it out loud; I DON”T LIKE THE BEATLES!  My husband was completely shocked and gave me a lecture on how important The Beatles have been to the history of human kind.  A week later, I told my neighbors the same thing and they were also shocked, their eyes were wide open and I could feel the same lecture approaching our conversation.  I panicked and so, I decided to tell them that my husband doesn’t like U2,  that took the pressure from me and deviated the conversation to him.  Who doesn’t like U2?

I must say, in my defense,  that this is not something that happened in one day.  Throughout my life I have tried to like The Beatles.  I consider that I know most of their songs,  but I’m 32 years-old and it is time to stop pretending.  I know that  I might be the only person on earth that can not listen to Hey Jude, Yellow Submarine or Help one more time.  I can not even talk about Imagine. (by John Lennon)   The worse part about that song, is that some crazy english teacher in high school made us memorize it and since then I can’t listen to it.  I can still picture my class, in a catholic school singing ” Imagine there’s no heaven, it’s easy if you try.  No people below us, above it’s only sky” 
Society might judge me for revealing my true feelings about The Beatles, but it is a risk I’m willing to take.  I appreciate how influential they have been to history and  music.  How influential they have been to many bands;  bands that I love, but I have made out my mind and I’m not looking back.

The funny thing is that there is a TV commercial for Target that features the song Hello, Goodbye.  I like  this song so much that I’m always singing it.  This weekend I wanted to write about it.  I looked it up on the internet, and it turns out that Hello, Goodbye is a song is by The Beatles, released on November of 1967.   I was very surprised, because as you know, I don’t like The Beatles, but I guess that this song is the exception.

Enjoy,

4 responses

  1. Meme

    Helen, I don’t care about The Beatles too… I never hear their music. BUT… Why Sanhur doesn’t like U2????????? OMG, I don’t believe it!!!!!!!!!!!

    December 20, 2010 at 8:30 am

    • Si meme! Sahnur es la unica persona que no resiste U2.

      December 20, 2010 at 8:37 am

  2. Pilar Rivera

    I don’t like the latest work of U2 but love their classics! I actually have a love – hate relationship with them. And I guess I can’t lecture about the Beates but if you listen closely it might be that some of the music you like have their influence.

    December 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    • Pili! Tienes razon a mi solo me gustan Los clasicos de U2. With or with out you es una de mis canciones favoritas! Con respecto a Los Beatles, he oido muchas de sus canciones y la verdad no me da curiosidad seguir escuchando su musica. Un abrazo y gracias por la tarjeta de navidad!

      December 20, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

