I hate myself for loving you


I was so close to spend this winter without any sickness. I did everything I could to keep my immune system strong and alert, but finally the cold my daughter and husband had, got to me. So, with a tissue on my hand and a cup of tea I salute you nasty cold! But don’t worry, this post is not about cold and diseases, it is about a terrible cover of a song I love.

So here we go,

As you get older, you star finding that the pleasures of life are found in simple things. When I need a break from the craziness my life has become, one of my favorite things to do is to go to a bookstore, order a cappuccino and flip through magazines. The shallower the magazine, the more relaxed I feel… It is my guilty pleasure, and I love it! I guess that the idea of not doing anything, is what is appealing to me. I don’t have to think at all, or run around from one place to the other. For a couple of hours, I get to sit down, drink my coffee and enjoy the magazines.

The other day I was at the bookstore, drinking my cappuccino, flipping through a magazine, enjoying the view through the window when I noticed, on the background a familiar melody. First I didn’t recognize it, because the melody was slower than the original song and the singer was basically whining instead of singing. I started to pay more attention to the song and finally realized that what I was listening to was a bad cover of I hate myself for loving you. It is funny because until that moment I have never noticed how pathetic and depressing the lyrics of that song are;

“I think of you every night and day.
You took my heart, then you took my pride away.
I hate myself for loving you .
Can’t break free from the things that you do.
I wanna walk but I run back to you, that’s why
I hate myself for loving you .”

So why I didn’t notice it before? I guess it is because the original song is sang by one of the coolest woman on earth; Joan Jett. Her presence is so powerful that the content of the songs, don’t really matter. She can sing about the most ridiculous thing and still make a great song. In fact, what makes I hate myself for loving you fantastic, is the contrast between a heart-broken, needy woman who is singing with a powerful voice and confidence. This is one of those songs that turned into a ballad becomes a complete disaster. In my opinion, transforming a rock song into a slow, mellow ballad, is very tricky. Most of the time, the songs lose their power and energy. As a result, you end up at a bookstore listening to a mediocre song and feeling annoyed with the whining of the singer, imagining a poor guy completely depressed and wishing that somebody would be brave enough to put an end to his misery – and to the song.

Joan Jett and other female rockers of the 80’s such as Ann Wilson ( Heart), Stevie Nicks, Chrissie Hynde (The Pretenders), Pat Benatar and Annie Lennox influenced a whole generation of women. They were women in control of their lives and their own destiny. They were strong, confident and fierce vocalists that delivered powerful songs. I grew up watching them and even though I don’t have a motorcycle and walk around in leather pants and punk hair, I like to think that part of that “powerful women” is in me today. It is a shame that main stream female artist of today like Taylor Swift and Katy Perry lack of a strong point of view. I guess after women fought for their rights, made peace and not war, and became equal to men, their only concern left is how to be sexy and fit in really short outfits. (Do I sound like a mother or what?)

Enjoy

2 responses

  1. Raquel

    ELENA!!! I LOVE YOU!!! YOU ARE SOOOO FUNNY AND DEEP, ALL AT THE SAME TIME!!
    CHEERS!

    January 25, 2011 at 9:25 am

  2. Meme

    jajajajaaj es cierto! Nunca hubiera pensado que la letra era tan deprimente… Definitivamente el rock ochentero era super trágico, siempre cantando al despecho y desamor. Love that song! Y chao los malos covers!
    MejOjalá salgan pronto de la gripa familiar.

    Besos!

    January 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

