Mint Car vs Lovesong


Last week was Valentine’s day; a holiday created to remind your special one of how much you love him/her. I have never felt inclined to celebrate this holiday, it was never been a tradition of mine and I don’t feel compelled to adopt it, as I adopted Thanksgiving; my favorite holiday since I moved to the US. The fact that this holiday is just for couples, leaves all the single population without celebrating, making them feel lonely and frustrated for not having a Valentine. It also puts pressure on couples that expect something extraordinary from their loved one, possibly creating anxiety and disappointment.  This holiday is not for me – no Sir, the calendar keeps me very busy between birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas, and father’s day. I think that these are all I can handle and that is the reason I have chosen to ignore Valentine’s day.

Despite the fact I don’t celebrate Valentine’s day, it is really hard to get away from the commercials and sale events that come up around this time of  year.  This year, all these media bombardment got into me and I started to think that if I wanted to celebrate Valentine’s day, I would have a hard time selecting my ultimate favorite love song.  If you think about it, selecting a favorite love song is a very difficult task.   Most songs are about love. Love is what makes our lives worth, it’s what inspires men and women of all ages; it is the essence of humanity. I’m not only talking about crazy, passionate love, I’m talking about relationships in general. Everything in our lives is about relationships and we are better or worse human beings because of the people in our lives.  That is why, man throughout history have felt the need to sing about love. 

When I started to think about a favorite love song, or even 10 great love songs, millions of songs started to pop in my head, I immediately realized that  there are two variables that make this selection process particularly difficult  and these are: Love Stage and Genre.  Love Stage: The first question I asked myself was: what king of love are we talking about? There are 6 essential categories that songwriters have used when writing about love, these are: Wanting Love, Crushes, Recently Found Love, Passionate Love, Steady Love, Lost Love and Heartbreak.  So if we are talking about Valentine’s day, we could easily narrow it down to three categories: Recently Found Love, Passionate Love and Steady Love. Still among these categories there are millions of songs that could easily be on my top 10.  Genre: The second thing that came clear to me was that genres could not be ignored.  In other words,  it is impossible to compare songs that don’t belong to the same genre.   As you can see, these two factors create a matrix that could be used as a method  for song selection.  However, this process can take a very long time since each section of the matrix could bring a series of subcategories that would make this task almost impossible to complete.  

Having hit the wall on the music matrix, another idea came to mind,  I decided to narrow my search and pick only one Love Stage and one Genre, so I decided to use Steady Love and Alternative Rock, and that was easier to do.

Not Long ago I rediscovered The Cure, I started to listen to their albums after a 15-year boycott and  fell in love with their songs.   This time, I found their lyrics to be the most beautiful ones I have heard in a long time.  When I started to think about love songs, The Cure was on my top list.  I guess Robert Smith doesn’t hold back when writing songs about love.  The difficulty was in the song selection.  I narrowed it down to two songs that, in my mind are particularly beautiful: Lovesong and Mint Car.  Below are my favorite parts of both songs, and since I couldn’t make up my mind, you can decide which one you like the most.

Enjoy.

Lovesong:

Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am home again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am whole again

Mint Car:

The sun is up
I’m so happy I could scream!
And there’s nowhere else in the world I’d rather be
Than here with you
It’s perfect
It’s all I ever wanted
I almost can’t believe that it’s for real

I really don’t think it gets any better than this
Vanilla smile
And a gorgeous strawberry kiss!
Birds sing we swing
Clouds drift by and everything is like a dream
It’s everything I wished

2 responses

  1. Lina

    Helen!
    Lo máximo este post, en todos los sentidos. Y gracias por seleccionar Lovesong! Me encanta esta canción y ha sido nuestro himno con Tunc.

    February 24, 2011 at 9:52 am

    • Linis, no sabia! me alegra que te halla gustado. A mi esas dos canciones me encantan!

      February 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

