I can’t remember the 90’s


Since I started writing this block, I noticed that every time I think of the “good old days”, I always go back to the 80’s. I remember this decade as it had happened yesterday; the fashion, the music, the T.V. shows, everything is vividly inserted in my mind. What is strange about having these clear memories, is that I was only 2-years old in 1980 and 11 in 1989. Most people start building their memories at the age of 3 (on average). If I try really hard, I can remember when I was 4 years-old, but I’m certain I can not remember 1980 and 1981. Even if I was able to remember those years, you are not really aware of a decade’s music, fashion and trends until you are much older.  Probably I was only aware of the 80’s culture from 1986 to 1989. So, how come I can remember it so well? And how come the 90’s are only composed of vague images that pop in my head once in a while? From age 11 to 21, technically my golden years, I can’t seem to remember much. After thinking about it, I came up with a couple of theories, actually 2 theories, about the mental tricks my mind is playing with me.

1. A lot of the culture of the 80’s extended into the 90’s. Many important bands like Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Poison, etc. from the 80’s were still big in the early 90’s. The same goes for the fashion, and TV shows. In general, there is not a clean break between the 80’s and the 90’s;  much of what we catalogue as 80’s continued to exist in the early 90’s. I guess, what I’m trying to say is that when you think of big hair, colorful make up and tight pants – mostly on guys, you think of the 80’s, but technically many of these images are also from the early 90’s.

2. In my mind, the 90’s didn’t happened that long ago, I have a hard time telling myself that this decade ended 11 years ago. Maybe it is because since then, life has speed up and it feels like, every thing has happened really fast. What ever the reasons are, in my mind, there is nothing distinctive about the 90’s that would let me separate it from the 00’s and it all blends together in a category I like to call “recent past”.  However, I must accept that it has been a while since the 90’s and that there are special memories that should be pulled apart and filed in their own folders. Basically, I need to separate the 90’s from the “recent past”, archive my memories and let it go. 

In order to do this, first I have to find out what exactly happened during those years.  I did some research and found my favorite  TV shows, movies and songs from the 90’s.  I think this will help me identify the 90’s with its distinctive memories and at the same time pay tribute, to a fantastic decade!

So here we go:

TV SHOW
Seinfeld – This is the best show ever!  No other show makes me laugh like Seinfeld
Alley McBeal -“My first, my last, my everything”
Dawson’s Creek – Poor Dawson, he started to lose his hair and at the end, nobody wanted to date him.
Felicity – I Loved this show!
The X Files – Did Mulder and Scully ever got together? I have to admit that these was a very long show and at the end I lost interest.
Beverly Hills 90210 – Classic
Friends – Central Perk
Fraiser – I always thought that Niles – Fraiser’s brother was hilarious
Melrose Place – Classic
3rd Rock from the Sun

MOVIES
Shindler’s List 1993 – I still remember the scene where everything is black and white except for the girl on the red coat
The Usual Suspects 1995 – After this movie I became a big fan of Kevin Spacey
The Sixth Sense 1999 – “I see dead people”
Se7en 1995 – Brad Pitt! – I still remember the guy that die from gluttony – Nasty!
L.A Confidential  1997 – Kevin Spacey I love you!
Pulp Fiction 1994 – Best Soundtrack
The Silence of the Lamps 1991 -” Good evening, Clarice”
Forrest Gump 1994 – “Run Forrest”
Titanic 1997 – “I am the king of the world”
Jerry Macguire 1996 – “Show me the money”

MUSIC
So, these are my favorite songs from the 90’s.  It was hard to pick only 10, but I think theses songs have been somehow  “Iconic” in my life.  Enjoy!

 Ok. I like these ones too!

6 responses

  1. Lindsay

    OMG! Every one of those took me to a specific memory. 90’s music is totally my comfort food! Its the macaroni and cheese of music. 🙂

    April 6, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    • Hahahaha that is awsome! Lots of good memories!

      April 6, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  2. I’m a 90’s kid. The songs up there are definitely the bests of the decades though it pains me that Nirvana is not included up there. 🙂

    Nice blog you got here.

    April 6, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    • Thanks! You are right about Nirvana, for some reason, I wasn’t a big fan of them at the time. But I know how important they were at the time.

      April 6, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  3. melissa

    kevin spacey es tremendo! (spectaaaaacular. american beauty, 1999). te sumo ultraviolet al conteo de los 90s…algo de u2 por favor!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKK5YfkEimQ

    buenísimo helen. un abrazo!

    April 7, 2011 at 8:44 am

    • Meli! tienes toda la razon! se me olvido U2. Me alegro que te halla gustado el post. Un abrazo!

      April 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

