Songs that are impossible to sing


When I started to write this post, I thought I was just going to write about songs that are impossible to sing. Due to some great ideas from my husband, I end up recording my self to prove my point. To my surprise, I discovered a couple of things, 1. Regardless of all those years of people like RAQUEL R. telling me that I have a terrible voice, now, I can comfortably say: I DON”T THINK MY VOICE IS THAT BAD. 2. I can sing very fast, specially in spanish and 3. There are definitely some songs that are impossible to sing.

To give you a little bit of background; I have always been a frustrated singer. It all started when I was 6 years old, when my music teacher made us audition for the school choir. She made us sing a very difficult song called “El Gallo Pinto”. After we all sang, one by one in front of the class, the teacher called out the names of the girls that made it to the choir. My name was never mentioned, in fact she gave a second chance to other girls and implied that I shouldn’t even try again. Basically there wasn’t anything she could do for me. That was my first rejections as a singer. I guess that my problem is that I love to sing, but apparently, it sounds bad. Friends and family, throughout life have reminded me that I should really keep it to myself.

Despite all the “Honesty” on how bad my voice is, I have never given up. I love singing and I will keep singing until I can’t sing anymore. I know many songs from beginning to end and I enjoy when I can sing a song without skipping any word. However, there are some songs that are particularly difficult to sing. These songs, I have classified in three different categories:

1. Songs with lyrics that never repeat: These songs don’t require great vocals, but a good memory, since there is no repetition in the lyrics. A classic example is “Hand in my Pocket” from Alanis Morissette. One hand is always on her pocket and the other one is either giving a high-five, flicking a cigarette, giving the peace sign, etc. The same happens with songs by the Cure, The National and many other great artist. I particularly enjoy the creativity in these songs,but I have a hard time singing them.

2. Song with notes that are impossible to reach: Only really good and talented artists can sing these songs. Normal human beings can not even imagine reaching those high notes. Aretha Franklin, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, PattiLaBelle, Freddy Mercury, Michael Jackson and Stevie Wonder, are some of the best vocalists of all times. Their voices are unique and inscribed in our memories and souls. As I said before, to try to imitate them is impossible. However, my favorite examples of songs with really high notes are not by these famous artist. They are: “Alone” by Heart and “Little Respect” by Erasure. I really wish – with all my heart – I could sing these songs, but as you are going to hear in a couple of seconds, I can not. I said at the beginning of this post that my voice is not that bad, please keep in mind that I have never claimed to have a good voice.

3. Songs with Fast Lyrics: I love songs with fast lyrics. Here, I don’t want to focus on Rap since there isn’t a single song from that genre I can sing. Not in Spanish, not in English. When I say songs with fast lyrics, I’m mostly refering to rock, pop and alternative songs. Songs that are sang very fast and are very challenging. Songs like “It’s the end of the world” by R.E.M and “Give it Away” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. My favorite song in this category is “One Week” by Barenaked ladies. I have never been able to sing this song, even when I have the lyrics in front of me… To be honest, I have never met anybody that can sing this song completely – except for Barenaked Ladies.

To prove my point, I have made a couple of tests. I challenged myself to sing three “Impossible” songs. The first one is a song in spanish called “Legalizacion” and to my surprise, I was able to sing it! (In all cases I had the lyrics in front of me). The second test is “Little Respect” from Erasure wich I failed, it sounds really bad. The third one is “One Week” by Barenaked Ladies. Failed too, but I lasted longer than ever before….

Enjoy it …or not

Legalizacion

Little Respect

One Week

These are my favorite songs, that are impossible to sing:

4 responses

  1. I can’t seem to access this post from my iphone!!

    May 14, 2011 at 4:43 am

  2. ...

    out of all these songs I do know the song “one week” and a was surprised you said this song is impossible to sing because when I was six I almost learned the hole thing just by listening to it over and over without any lyrics, but now I can sing a lot more of it because I know the lyrics, if you mean it is impossible to sing the hole thing the first time you try then ya I guess that’s impossible, but with practice these songs are not impossible to sing.

    April 7, 2013 at 11:29 am

  3. i can sing one wwek al of it đŸ™‚

    December 6, 2014 at 4:40 am

  4. Natattack

    I just sang the full song to BNL one week without any mistakes! It takes legit practice because of the tongue twisters in there.

    February 24, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

