Lupe Fiasco, Girl Talk and The Strokes!


 A couple of years ago, I set up a very high goal for myself; I decided that I would go to a concert at least once a year.   This year, the concert season started early;  last Sunday I went to the Sweetlife Festival in Columbia MD.  It was an all-day concert, with groups such as Ra Ra Riot, Crystal Castles, Walk the Moon and many other bands.  My friend and I were mostly interested  in the last three shows of the night; Lupe Fiasco, Girl Talk and The Strokes.  You see, as you get older, there is so much your body can take, and being aware of that,  we decided to prioritize and just watch the groups we really wanted to see.  I think we made the right decision, it would have probably been too much for us if we had gone to the concert from beginning to end.  It was funny though,  by the time we got there, eveybody was… lets say, VERY HAPPY!  We had a great time, every show was better than what I expected and to me there is nothing like a life performance from a group you really admire.  Life music is the best way of experience music.

These are some of the songs I enjoyed the most at the concert:

LUPE FIASCO
Lupe Fiasco is an American rapper from Chicago.  Before the concert, I had listen to a couple of his songs, but I wasn’t very familiar with his music.  A Couple of weeks ago, I downloaded his latest album “Lasers” and I must say I really enjoyed it.  However my favorite song at the concert was Daydreamin‘.  This song was originally recorded in 1968 by the Belgian Band Wallace Collection.  The most famous  version of this song is Draydream in Blue  by the english duo  I Monster (They are fantastic!).  At almost exactly the same time  I Monster was releasing Daydream in Blue, The Beta Band were just about to release their single Squares from their album Hot Shots II.  Squares has the same lyrics and melody as the song from 1968.   Realizing the clash with I Monster, The Beta Band decided to pull the single and released Broke from the same album instead. Lupe Fiascos’s version can be found in the album “Food & Liquor” (2006).

Other favorite songs from Lupe Fiasco:

GIRL TALK
I haven’t heard of Girl Talk until my friend told me about him.  I wasn’t very interested in his music but I have to admit his performance was fantastic, we really enjoyed it!  Girl Talk (Gregg Michael Gillis), is famous for producing mashup-style remixes, where he often uses a dozen or more unauthorized samples from different songs to create a new song.  The New York Times Magazine has called his music “a lawsuit waiting to happen”1.   Aside from the controversy, his mixes are fantastic!

http://www.youtube.com/user/FeedTheAnimals?blend=2&ob=5

THE STROKES
This was my favorite performance of the night!!! I can’t get over Julian Casablancas voice!  I have been a fan of  the Strokes for a while; their first album “Is This It”(2001) is one of my favorite albums of all times, if you have a chance, I really recommend listening to it.  Their new album “Angles” released on March of 2011 is also fantastic!.  The Strokes have been one of the most important alternative rock bands of 00′. Their distinctive sound has been compared to The Doors and  other bands of the 70’s.  As I said before, their performance was amazing, good sound and lighting and even though Casablancas wasn’t very engaging, the songs, guitars and his voice were enough for me.

These were my favorite songs, Enjoy!

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Girl_Talk_(musician)

Leave a Reply

