The National – One more time!


For the past two weeks I have been working A LOT! Thanks God it is all over, and now I can go back to my normal life. People deal with stress in different ways, some get very irritable, some very quite, I think I just like to put my headphones on and listen to music. It is the only way I can focus and “relax” – or at least deal with the craziness. It is funny, when I ran into old projects, I can remember the music I was listening to, while working on them. However, for the last couple of months, every time I’m under pressure, my music selection always goes back to The National.

I really love their music! (This is the third time I write about them) Matt Berninger’s voice is amazing and the piano and guitar melodies are fantastic. Their songs change my mood right away… Since I started this last project, I started to search through their albums and ran into a new single they released on March 11 of this year. Exile Vilify is a song created for the video game Portal 2. I don’t know much about video games, the last time I played Nintendo was when Mario Bros came out, many years ago. For those interested in video games, this is what I found about Portal 2:

Portal 2 is a first-person puzzle-platform video game developed by Valve Corporation. It primarily comprises of a series of puzzles that are solved by teleporting the player’s character and simple objects using the “portal gun”, a device that can create inter-spatial portals between two flat planes. The game’s unique physics allow momentum to be retained through portals, requiring creative use of portals to maneuver through the test chambers.

As I said before, I don’t know much about video games…..

Enjoy

While looking though The National’s albums, I also ran into an extended version of their album High Violet, This version has life performances and alternate versions of several songs,

My favorite song these days from this album is Anyone’s Ghost

1.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portal_2

Leave a Reply

