Ukulele Songs


On May 31st of 2011, Eddie Vedder released his second solo album titled “Ukulele Songs”. At first I thought this was a really bad idea and that Eddie was basically….crazy. The reason why I was so skeptic is because the ukulele is a very tricky instrument. It’s sound is simple and plain, and it doesn’t have the dimensionality and layers of sounds a guitar can offer. I don’t have anything against the ukulele, but the thought of listening to 16 songs with just that instrument made me hesitant and, I have to admit it, I doubted Eddie’s ability to pull it off. However, after reading a couple of reviews and preparing myself mentally for a disappointment, I decided to get the album. The fist time I listened to “Ukulele Songs” I was very bored and couldn’t listen to more than 3 songs; I didn’t like it at all. However, the sound got stuck in my head and after a couple of hours, I started to listen to it again. Today, I have to say that I love the album, and that Eddie Vedder is a genius. The songs are beautiful, and even though his amazing voice is only accompanied by a simple ukulele, he was able to create an album with an impressive variety of sounds and rhythms. Bravo Eddie! My daughter loves it too, today she said, “More Ukulele”.

These are my favorite songs from “Ukulele Songs”:

This week I have been obsessed with Eddie Vedder. I must say, however, I wasn’t that interested in his work with Pearl Jam, but in his solo albums and collaborations with other artist. His first solo album, “Into de Wild” (soundtrack, 2007) is fantastic! To me, Eddie is at his best, when he does collaborations with other artists. Lucky me, he has contributed to many albums by other artists and has done guest appearances at shows and festivals. These are my favorite songs:

Enjoy,

And a Classic!

Mi Friend Ricardo D, who is an Eddie Vedder nerd, has made some fantastic recommendations for this post! Enjoy,

4 responses

  1. Elen: Cada vez me sorprendes en una forma diferente…… Esta es una de ellas. Sabia que querias escribir, pero de musica realmente nunca. Felicitaciones!!! Lo logrates.

    June 10, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    • Gracias Mami! Tu siempre has sido mi ejemplo de vida!

      June 10, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  2. William

    Good thing I subscribe to the blog of THE musical authority in the world! Great post!

    June 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    • Hahahahaha and urban designer too!!!

      June 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

