Concerns of a first-time mom


This weekend my daughter turned two years old! (First two years: checked!) Two years go by very fast, specially when you are a parent. Being a parent is a very tricky business, you really don’t know how to deal with a lot of situations, and when you finally think you have figure it out, the baby grows, changes and you have to adapt to the new phases of his or her life. It is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, but it is also the most rewarding thing in the world. Today, however, I’m not going to write about how great (or not) it is to be a parent. Today, I want to write about two things that have been bugging my mind for a while. But first, I want to take a second to tell my brother that despite all the harsh criticisms he has made about my latest posts, I’m going to keep writing. I want him to know that I am a person with feelings, and that the only thing I want is for him to support me… (hahaha)

As I was saying, since I became a mother, two things about this world have been bothering me: Princesses and children’s food.

Princesses: The girls of our time are bombarded with princesses. From clothes, to toys, to books, everything you might need for your daughter, you can find it with a princess on it. Thank you so much The Walt Disney Company, because of your lack of responsibility with the world, the girls of today, will be the most needy and useless women of tomorrow. There is nothing a girl can learn from a princess. First of all, there are only around 5 or 9 real princesses in the world and they have lives full of privileges most girls will never have. Secondly, there is only one Kate Middleton in this world, and she was rich before meeting prince William, otherwise they would have probably never met. Basically 99.9% of the world’s female population, will never be a princess.

I don’t want my daughter to grow up, expecting a life full of luxury, palaces and princes. I want her to be passionate about life, to work hard for what she wants, and to build a life for herself. There is no bigger feeling of accomplishment, than the feeling of have done things by yourself. Princess are weak and focused on their physical appearance. They are always waiting for their prince to come and rescue them from any trouble. There is such disconnect between the princess life and the daily life, that it makes me wonder of the effect these kinds of messages will have on our daughters. Why should they wait for a prince charming to come along? Are there any princes toys in the boys section of the store? No one is teaching the men of tomorrow to behave like princes, that is why relationships are full of misunderstandings; the girl is waiting for a prince while the boy only wants to play with cars… I refuse to buy any princess souvenir for my daughter! I want her to be tough, independent, funny and smart, I want her to be the anti-princess………. more like a cow girl!

Children’s food: A while ago, we took a trip to Philadelphia. We love this city and we wanted my mom – who is visiting – to see it. We have heard of a museum for kids called “The Please Touch Museum”, and we wanted to take our daughter there. I have to say it; if I see an ad on Craig’s List, that says “Come and visit The Please Touch Museum” I’ would probably think it is a sick invitation from a pervert, but don’t worry, it is all legal and most importantly, it is children-safe and very cool! We had a great afternoon there, but when we went to the cafeteria, to order some food, I was disappointed to find out that the only things they would offer (in a CHILDREN’S MUSEUM) were hamburgers, hotdogs and pizzas. Really? A museum for kids and you can not think of a more healthy menu? How many kids eat there daily? I don’t even want to think about it. I’m so frustrated with the children’s menus at restaurants, that lately I’ve decided to order food for myself and give some of my meal to my daughter. it is a win-win situation; I eat less and she eats healthy. Seriously, I rather do this than give her greasy quesadillas, fries and ketchup. After all the research done on the effect things like high fructose corn syrup, hormones on animals, and hydrogenated oils, have on our bodies, it is sad to see that we are still feeding these things to our children. (or ar least offering them)

Thank you for reading my venting session, I really needed to get this out of my system!

Have a lovely day!

7 responses

  1. jr

    Elen, what the fffff.. this blog is for music fans, not about your life. However i love you and support you in this epic quest.

    June 22, 2011 at 11:11 am

    • Jose! It is my blog and I can write whatever I want! I love you too!

      June 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  2. Meme

    Joseeee!!! jajajajajajajaja….
    Helen! Que buena historia. Y me encanta que estés educando a Ani a comer sano y no creerse la princess. De todas formas la sociedad no es sólo la familia, también está la influencia de los amigos, medios de comunicación y la vida misma que llevan muchas veces a que los hijos opten por querer sentirse mejores y aceptados. Acuérdate lo que decía Andrés López: Nosotros queremos ser dos estratos más arriba de nuestros papás y los hijos de uno dos arriba del nuestro. Igual pienso que todo comienza por casa. Pero bueno, llegará el momento en que Ani te pida una princesa o una pizza y vas a tener que tener open mind. y flexibilidad. A veces los hijos no terminan con los gustos o decisiones que los papás quisieran. Si no, mirame a mi, después de todo lo que hicieron mis papás y yo ni toco guitarra, ni hago ejercicio, ni me pongo casi faldas… Lo importante es educar para que ellos sepan a qué se enfrentan en el futuro y cómo hacer para tomar el mejor camino sin tanto tropiezo! Besos amiga!
    BTW: AMO ESA CANCIÓN Y ESA PELÍCULA!!!

    June 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm

  3. Elen keep on writing… I love your blog, and I also love you both.

    June 22, 2011 at 6:35 pm

  4. Alejandra

    por eso hay que tener varones………lo de las princesas es TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    en cuanto a la comida….asi es……armate de paciencia!
    Muy bueno tu blog!

    Un beso grande y a ver cuando habalmos

    June 22, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  5. William

    Elena – sounds like you need to check out this NPR story, and the book it’s based on (Cinderella Ate My Daughter)! I thought of it immediately when I read your post.

    We miss you guys! And this was a slight digression from the stated purpose of the blog; I hope you don’t lose your sponsorships… Still: good post!

    June 23, 2011 at 9:30 am

    • Intersting! I’m going to look for it. Thanks for the support, I’ll keep the stated purpose of the blog in mind next time I write. – at least you are more polite than my brother!

      June 23, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

