I’m Back Baby!


After a deserved summer break; a trip to the exotic lands of Istanbul, I have returned to my beloved DC. Now, I can go back to my blog and keep writing meaningless articles. I can’t believe it has been a year since my first post and I most say, it has been an amazing experience – I have enjoyed the ride. I feel that writing this blog has kept me from blowing my brain a couple of times. I have discovered that for me, it is important to have a hobby, a personal project I can focus on for a couple of hours and decompress. What is surprising is that this hobby has lasted a year! Anyway,
as I said before, I never thought I would enjoy writing this much and I want to take a moment to thank everyone that reads Listen to This and have given me words of encouragement through out this year. I really appreciate it! Thank you!

Since I came back I have been searching for new music. Sometimes you just want to discover a new sound, a new group, a new album and listen to it over and over… This time my search took a while. I ended up listening to music podcasts for a couple of days. NPR Music has great shows and I most say, I ran into a couple of interesting things:

There is an interview with Manu Chau on Alt Latino. Manu Chau is one of the coolest guys on earth, and this comes across in this interview where he talks about his life, his musical influences and DJs music from his favorites artists. This is the link to the interview http://www.npr.org/templates/archives/archive.php?thingId=128334429&date=9-8-2011 Manu Chau is one of my favorite artist, I’m really glad I was able to see him in concert a couple of years ago, he is a great performer. My favorite song is Rumba de Barcelona. (Check the guitar solo)

I also ran into a Noah and The Whale mini concert: http://www.npr.org/2011/08/10/138615666/noah-and-the-whale-tiny-desk-concert

Finally, Yesterday I found what I was looking for; a new band to love! Blind Pilot is an Indie band from Portland, Oregon. Their debut album, 3 Rounds and a Sound reached number 13 on the Billboard Top Digital Albums chart. The song Oviedo is in this album

Blind Pilot did a bicycle tour in 2008, biking from Bellingham, Washington to San Diego, California, carrying their instruments on custom bicycle trailers they fashioned themselves. They made more than two dozen stops along the way, including Port Townsend, Seattle, Olympia, Portland, Corvallis, Eugene, Coos Bay, Arcata and Santa Cruz.1 I guess not only they are a pretty good band, but they also have good legs!

On September 13th 2011, they released their new album; We Are The Tide. this song was on Song of the Day on NPR

Enjoy

1.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blind_Pilot

One response

  1. gloria de romero

    Elen: Me alegro que estes de vuelta. Hacían falta tu música y tus comentarios. El reencuentro con tus fans ha sido magnífico.

    September 16, 2011 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

