An Argument with Myself


This week I have been obsessed with the song An Argument with Myself by Jens Lekman.  The EP, with the same title, was released in September of this year, and it is pretty great.  An Argument with Myself has some of the most strange and funny lyrics I have ever heard.  After discovering this song, I started to listen to Lekman’s music and I have to say, that most of his songs have very unique and enjoyable lyrics that can make you smile.

An Argument with Myself is a song about Lekman’s having a bad time in Australia;  the streets of Melbourne are referenced in the song.    I read that he moved there to chase a love interest but now he is back in Sweden. Probably things didn’t work out and he end up arguing with himself for a while.  In this song, where he is literally arguing with himself, you can hear 2 voices or more having a fight. Maybe this is a little extreme, but I do think that at some level, we do ague with ourselves, it is probably part of our thought process.  My favorite part is the beginning:

“Having an argument with myself down Elizabeth Street
Bumping into backpackers and
struggling with the parameters
and the basic construction of my feet.”

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. William

    The voice kind of reminds me of They Might Be Giants – and the guitar work of Oliver Mtukudzi from Zimbabwe. Do you know him? Great stuff.

    September 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

    • No, I don’t know him, I’m going to check it out. You are right, he sounds a like They Might be Giants.

      September 23, 2011 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

